Member Login


Lost PasswordActivate Account


Visit Website

Institution Profile

University Malaysia Terengganu (UMT)


UMT is the 14th public university established in Malaysia. It first became fully-autonomous as a university college on 1 July 2001 and was renamed Universiti Malaysia Terengganu on 1 February 2007. Historically, it originated from the Centre for Fisheries and Marine Science in Kuala Terengganu in 1979 to make available the facilities for practical training for students and lecturers of Marine Science and Fisheries programmes. With the restructuring of the academic programmes at Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM), the entire Faculty of Fisheries and Marine Sciences was moved to Terengganu and given an enlarged scope and a new name in June 1996, i.e. the Faculty of Applied Science and Technology. The campus was then recognised as a branch campus of UPM where the Faculty of Science and Professional Arts was also inaugurated. The establishment of University College Terengganu was approved by the Malaysian Cabinet on 5 May 1999 and was subsequently renamed University College of Science and Technology Malaysia (KUSTEM).

To be an institution that generates, disseminates and applies innovative knowledge, and be a catalyst for the development of progressive individuals and a sustainable environment.

To drive the fields of science, technology and management of natural resource via the generation of excellent academic and research programmes towards the development of individuals who ensure the sustainability of religion, race and the nation.

Academic Strengths

Niche Area

  • Oceanography and Marine Science
  • Aquaculture
  • Marine Biotechnology
  • Sustainable Environment
  • Food Security
  • Socio-Economic Development

Programme Outline

Programmes and Duration For Undergraduate Studies

Programmes Duration
Faculty of Science and Technology
1. Bachelor of Science Computer (Software Engineering) 3 years
2. Bachelor of Science (Biological Sciences) 3 years
3. Bachelor of Science (Chemical Sciences) 3 years
4. Bachelor of Applied Science (Biodiversity Conservation and Management) 3 years
5. Bachelor of Science (Computational Mathematics) 3 years
6. Bachelor of Science (Financial Mathematics) 3 years
7. Bachelor of Science (Analytical and Environmental Chemistry)3 years
8. Bachelor of Technology (Environment)4 years
9. Bachelor of Applied Science (Electronic Physics and Instrumentation)3 years
10. Bachelor of Science with Informatics Maritime7 years
Faculty of Management and Economics
1. Bachelor of Accounting4 years
2.Bachelor of Economics (Natural Resources)3 years
3. Bachelor of Management (Marketing)3 years
Faculty of Social Development
1. Bachelor of Counseling4 years
2. Bachelor of Management (Policy and Social Environment)3 years
Faculty of Agrotechnology and Food Science
1. Bachelor of Applied Science (Fishery)3 years
2. Bachelor of Food Science (Food Service and Nutrition)4 years
3. Bachelor of Science in Agrotechnology (Aquaculture)3 years
4. Bachelor of Science in Agrotechnology (Post Harvest Technology)3 years
5. Bachelor of Food Science (Food Technology) 4 years
6. Diploma in Fisheries 3 years
Faculty of Maritime Studies and Marine Science
1. Bachelor of Science (Marine Science) 3 years
2. Bachelor of Management (Maritime) 3 years
3. Bachelor of Science (Marine Biology) 3 years
4. Bachelor of Applied Science (Maritime Technology) 4 years
5. Bachelor of Science (Nautical Sciences and Maritime Transportation) 4 years

More than 27 foreign partners including :

  • Kagoshima University, Japan
  • Australian Maritime College (AMC)
  • Edith Cowan University, Australia
  • University of Queensland, Australia
  • Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • University Brunei Darussalam, Brunei
  • University Liverpool John Moore,UK
  • University Airlangga, Indonesia
  • Institute Pertanian Bogur, Indonesia
  • University Thammasut & University Mahidol, Bangkok
  • University of South Brittany, France
  • French Institute of Research for Exploration of The Sea (ITREMER)
  • New Castle University, UK
  • Universidad Catolica De La Santosima Conception, Chile
  • Cantho University, Vietnam
  • East Carolina University, USA

Academic Facilities & Resources

  • Hostel
  • Nursery
  • Cafeteria
  • Sports & Recreation
  • Health Centre
  • Transportation
  • Gymnasium
  • Bank
  • Dewan Sultan Mizan (DSM)
  • Scuba Diving
  • e-University Service
  • University House
  • Guest Hotel
  • Library
  • Digital Library
  • Wireless Hot Spot
  • Rumah Bidong
  • Surau
  • Staff Housing
  • Computer lab
  • Conference Hall
  • Video Conferencing Room
  • Mini Studio
  • Auditorium
  • Sport Complex
  • Research Vessel
  • Salt Water Hatchery
  • Fresh Water Hatchery
  • Food Science Laboratory
  • Pool

Student Clubs & Organisations

  • Student Council (MPP)
  • KKB
  • English Literary Society (ELS)
  • Biodiversity Club
  • Distributive Business Club
  • COMtech Club
  • Double Helix Club
  • Fishery & Marine Science Club (FIMAS)
  • Mathematics Club (HIMMAT)
  • Integra (Agro technology) Club
  • Organisational Counselling Club (CORGA)
  • Chemistry Club
  • Accounting Club (HISAAC)
  • Economics Club (KEUT)
  • Maritime Club (MAPEM)
  • Public Policy and Social Environment Club (PLAS)
  • Food Science Club
  • Environmental Technology Club (ENTECHS)
  • Marketing Club (MAR'C)
  • Revolution of Fisheries Club (REVOF's)

Co-curriculum, Sports & Culture Centre

The unit manages all credited co-curriculum programmes, which is compulsory for all students. Co-curriculum programmes are divided into five components; uniform clubs, leadership clubs, cultural clubs, martial-arts clubs and sports clubs. Presently, there are 27 courses handled by this unit.

The Student Council is an association that speaks for the students. Activities which include moral and ethics, arts and culture, voluntary services as well as sports and recreation are organised by the various student clubs. The following are activities organised regularly by the student clubs :

  • Academic and Career Seminars
  • Student Voluntary Service Programmes
  • UMT Fest
  • Recreational Water Sports
  • Debate and Academic Fest

The student clubs and societies registered at the Student Affairs Division are :


Scholarships & Financial Aid

  • National Higher Education Fund (PTPTN)
  • Scholarships sponsored by State Foundations and other agencies and private organisations.

Address :
University Malaysia Terengganu (UMT)
Corporate Communication & External Affairs Division
21030 Kuala Terengganu
Tel : 09-668 4100
Fax : 609-668 4390
Website :

Institution Profile

Google Map

Courses Available

Courses available. For details, click here.
Areas of Study:

  • Accounting
  • Languages (National language & other languages)
  • Social Sciences
  • Mass Communication
  • Business & Administration
  • Science (Life Science/Physical Science/Applied Science)
  • Mathematics & Statistics
  • Computing
  • Manufacturing & Processing
  • Architecture & Building
  • Agriculture, Forestry & Fishery
  • Veterinary
  • Social Services
  • Hotel & Travel
  • Transport Services

Student Testimonials

Wan Zaidi Wan Muhammad, Malaysia
Post-graduate Studies

View what other students say about this institution!

Key Personnel

Prof. Dr. Aziz Deraman

View Profile of Key Personnel Here!



Share This Page!