Education News

Curtin Vice-Chancellor elected new Chair of Universities Australia

March 8, 2019 | Campus News

Curtin Vice-Chancellor Professor Deborah Terry is the new Chair of Universities Australia.

Miri – 8 March 2019 – Curtin University’s Vice-Chancellor Professor Deborah Terry has been elected the next Chair of Universities Australia at the Universities Australia Annual General Meeting held in Canberra recently.

Universities Australia was established on 22 May 2007 as the peak body representing the university sector in Australia. It represents Australian universities in the public interest, both nationally and internationally. Members of Universities Australia are the universities, represented by their vice-chancellors.

Professor Terry will succeed Monash University Vice-Chancellor Professor Margaret Gardner from 21 May 2019.

Curtin University Chancellor Dr Andrew Crane said Professor Terry would bring considerable expertise and an innovative vision to the role.

“Under Professor Terry’s leadership, Curtin continues to climb world rankings with a commitment to high-quality research and teaching that is making a real difference to communities locally, nationally and internationally,” Dr Crane said.

“Professor Terry’s global perspective, outstanding research skills, strong leadership and inspiring vision make her an ideal choice to represent Australia’s higher education sector on the national and global stage. I am also certain she will be a significant voice for our strong State across the country, and beyond.”

Professor Terry said she was honoured to lead the organisation, after being a long-standing Universities Australia board director.

“It’s a deep honour to be able to give voice to the profound role of Australia’s universities to change the lives of individuals, communities and nations,” Professor Terry said.

“Through teaching and inspiring the next generation, and forging research breakthroughs that change knowledge forever, universities are central to our future prosperity.

“I’m delighted to build on Margaret’s strong legacy and to pick up seamlessly in our advocacy to the Australian public, decision makers, and community leaders,” she added.

Meanwhile, Pro Vice-Chancellor, President and Chief Executive of Curtin University Malaysia (Curtin Malaysia) Professor Jim Mienczakowski said Professor Terry’s role is an important one and a great honour for Curtin University across all its campuses in Australia, Malaysia, Dubai, Singapore and Mauritius.

“She will play a significant role in advancing and promoting the benefits of Australian universities and support them in the performance of their roles, as well as assist in their further development,” he said.

Professor Terry has been a member of the Universities Australia Board since 2015 and has served as Deputy Chair for the past two years.

She is a Fellow and past President of the Academy of Social Sciences in Australia, a member of the Advisory Council of the Australian Research Council (ARC) and has previously chaired both the Australian Council of Learned Academies and the ARC’s College of Experts in the Social, Behavioural and Economic Sciences.

In 2015 Professor Terry was made an Officer in the General Division of the Order of Australia for distinguished service to education in the tertiary sector.

Curtin University is Western Australia’s largest university and is ranked in the top one per cent of universities worldwide, with the university placed in the top 200 globally according to the Academic Ranking of World Universities (ARWU) 2018.

Professor Terry has been its Vice-Chancellor since February 2014, and under her leadership, the university has built a reputation around innovation and an entrepreneurial spirit, being at the forefront of many high-profile research projects in astronomy, biosciences, economics, mining and information technology. It is also recognised globally for its strong connections with industry, and for its commitment to preparing students for the jobs of the future.

For more information on Curtin University and Curtin Malaysia, visit their websites at and, respectively.

Back to News Page