Contact Us Contact Us
Education News

[TAR UMT] A Celebration of Success at TAR UMT Convocation

November 18, 2022 | Campus News

Hew Ting Yi (left) receiving the FAFB Professional Examination Excellence Award – ACCA from Prof Ir Dr Lee Sze Wei, President of TAR UMT.

Following its recent upgrade to full-university status, from Tunku Abdul Rahman University College (TAR UC) to Tunku Abdul Rahman University of Management and Technology (TAR UMT), the institution celebrated its inaugural convocation ceremony on 12 – 14 November 2022, at the Kuala Lumpur Main Campus.

A total of 3,199 graduates received their scrolls, of which 2,218 are from Diploma programmes, 942 are from Bachelor Degree programmes and 39 are from Postgraduate programmes. Out of that figure, 74 academically outstanding graduates were awarded the coveted Book Prize award. In the year 2022, there are altogether a total of 9,054 graduates from KL Main Campus and branches in Penang, Perak, Johor, Pahang and Sabah.

Hoh Ji Hin, a Bachelor of Hospitality Management (Hons) graduate and Book Prize winner, was awarded the President’s Award and Hew Ting Yi, a Bachelor of Accounting (Hons) graduate, was named as the FAFB Professional Examination – Excellence Award – ACCA winner.

When interviewed, Hoh Ji Hin, mentioned that he was pleasantly surprised and extremely grateful for this recognition. “This award could not have been possible without the guidance and support of staff, lecturers and coursemates throughout my educational journey. This has motivated me to go further. As a student, I have personally witnessed the change from TAR UC to TAR UMT and I think it is an essential transition in making this institution a better place for students and also employees. I am proud of the fact that my alma mater is now a full-fledged University,” he said.

Hew Ting Yi, said that it was an honour to receive such a prestigious award, and with the institution being a full-fledged university, it just makes this honour even more meaningful. “My academic achievements would not have been possible if it was not for the University, from its experienced and caring lecturers to the state- of-the-art facilities. Hence, I will always be grateful for the opportunities and recognition given to me by my alma mater,” he said.

This convocation ceremony witnessed another special event where two very important individuals, YBhg Dato’ Dr Lim Khaik Leang, the second Principal of the then TAR College and Mr Tan Chang Soong, former Deputy Registrar and one of the pioneers in the Working Team for Higher Education Planning, receiving their Honorary Fellowship awards for their contributions to this institution during its early years as TAR College.

Both recipients were conferred the award by Tan Sri Chan Kong Choy, Member of the Board of Governors of TAR UMT and TAR UMT Alumni Council Chairman during the first session of the convocation ceremony, on 12 November 2022. Tan Sri Chan also handed out scrolls to graduands and congratulated them on their well-deserved success.

“This qualification is concrete proof that the precious time, hard work, determination and effort you’ve put into your study years at TAR UMT deserves nothing less than recognition, admiration and applause from everyone here,” said Tan Sri Chan.

Tan Sri Chan also highlighted that although TAR UMT may be forging new paths in the future, the institution’s core mission – making tertiary education accessible to all deserving Malaysians, will not be forgotten. “We will ensure that the TAR

UMT Student Loan Fund will continue to offer financial assistance to deserving students, providing them with a chance to pursue a tertiary qualification.”

Since the inception of the student loan fund in 1979, close to 14,800 students have benefited from the loan to date, with more than RM55 million disbursed. On top of that, TAR UMT’s Merit Scholarships are awarded to the academically gifted.


Hew Ting Yi (left) receiving the FAFB Professional Examination Excellence Award – ACCA from Prof Ir Dr Lee Sze Wei, President of TAR UMT.


The Honorary Fellows, YBhg Dato’ Dr Lim Khaik Leang (third from left) and Mr Tan Chang Soong (second from left) taking a group photograph with Prof Ir Dr Lee Sze Wei (leftmost), Tan Sri Chan Kong Choy (centre), YBhg Tan Sri Dato’ Lau Yin Pin (fifth from left), YBhg Datin Paduka Tan Siok Choo (sixth from left) and YBhg Datuk Roger Tan Kor Mee (rightmost), who are members of the Board of Trustees, TARC Education Foundation.

Back to News Page


Download FREE myCourseGuide